Just a mama duck

I don’t use the term foster parent with the little ducklings. I am just Dusty. I am here to keep them safe while all the rest of the grownups get it together and figure things out.

I actually find this works. I am not their parent. It helps lessen the confusion with the littles.

To these ducklings – Simon is just Simon and Our boys – they are just the brothers. Our daughter is some mythical being whispered about 😂 (they seriously can’t figure out how she is our kid and not living here so we have them convinced she is magic) and my oldest – he is the oldest and often spoken about in passing as the person who slept on the couch during the “carnival” (Via Colori)

The people in my world – they are cool according to them 😂

However if you ask my oldest current duckling – Simon and I are the best foster parents she ever had. I mean we are the only ones she has had so there is not a lot to measure by but I will take it.

I didn’t teach her this word or the concept – kids talk I guess at school – I explained to her that she is not just my foster kid – she is one of my ducklings and that is the end of that.

Duckling is an easy moniker – and when people call me “mom” around them – I am quick to correct and say “nope just Dusty” – they always giggle and say “quack” 😂

It helps remind people that they are more than foster kids – they are so so much more.

Today the middle duckling brought home a drawing and said I could keep it forever so I never forgot her

Seriously kid 😂😂😂😂

#thisisfostercare 🐥🐥🐥

Leave a comment